Karen Mossman 

Karen MossmanTell us a bit about yourself.

 I married the boy next door in 1980 and went on to have two children who were born 2 years, 2 hours, 2lbs part all while we lived at house number 22. I do love coincidences.

What bought you to the world of writing?

My mum was a foster carer and I came from a family of four children, and one long-term foster sister. In those days you could foster up to 4 other children as well. Mum mainly looked after the under 5’s and I would entertain them with stories, but later I would write in my bedroom because it was a way of escaping the bedlam downstairs.  It was all for my own entertainment back then as I could be anyone and go anywhere, wherever my pen took me.

What is your first book and what do you think of it now?

My first book was a romance and it was dreadful. I think it’s in the loft somewhere buried in a box. It was self indulgent and way too soppy. But it was a learning curve – maybe of how not to write romance!

What type of books do you write and do they fulfill your reader’s needs?

I’m still learning really and this is my first published full length book. I like romance, but it must have something else in there too, and I’ve now learnt my genre is romance/suspense.

Would you like to feature a book, if so which one?  Tell us about it?

My book is called Star Struck and is set in 1980’s Manchester and the main character is called Joanna Nelson.

It’s story of love, loss, betrayal, friendship and kinship with fashion and music of the day.

Joanna is escaping a broken romance and there is nowhere better than with her sister in London. On the train she meets a mysterious stranger, then in London, a wide-boy cockney, and eventually arrives home with an even more complicated love life.

She is also haunted by her childhood and when her mother turns up unexpectedly, it brings back memories she would rather forget. All have consequences that she still carries with her. Thank goodness for her sister and friends who support her. The trouble is, it can be complicated when her best friend is a ‘he’.

Just as Joanna gets her life back on track, everything is turned upside down. Who of her friends will be there for her? Or will she find herself alone?

How long does it take you to write your first draft?

It’s hard to say, as Star Stuck probably took over a year, but I re-wrote that so many times, I lost count. Since then, I’ve been working on other novels and I’m finding that I’m a slow first drafter. It can take 6 months or so, but once the basics are there, I’ll go back for a rewrite, which is a lot more fun and easier to put together.

Do you plot or not, if so why?

I never used to plot my stories. I’d get a vague idea, a scene almost, and then just write and see what happens. Probably 5 out of every 10, fizzled into nothing. Recently I’ve started writing the whole story in outline form first. Then I break that down into chapters and keep notes of clues and twists. It seems to be working so far.

Do you write in 1st or 3rd person, or have you do both?

I’ve done both, but I prefer 1st person.

How do you edit your work?  Do you leave your draft alone for a while or edit as you write?

I leave it for a while and then I send it to my kindle and read it like it’s a ‘proper book’. It amazing how much you can spot that needs changing. As I read, I keep a notebook and jot down what I need to do.

What type of people/readers do you market your books to?

I’d like it to be both, but I imagine that mainly women read romance, but if you’re male, go for it!

Do you self-publish or have you worked with an Agent/Publisher

I’ve only just learnt that I can self publisher and this is what I’ve done with Star Struck. Having said that when it was first published, I had no idea what I was doing and its big launch consisted of the press of button and a ‘whoopee’ to family and friends. That’s why I am re-launching it after a revamping. With the help from good people fro #Awethors Facebook Group, I now know what you are supposed to do.

How do you promote your writing?

I’m getting lots of people to tweet and share on their social media sites. Other people have offered to blog about my book and I try and slip it in conversations when talking to people as well!

Where can we buy your books?

Amazon

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ebooks/dp/B00TWGBFDY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1440163252&sr=8-1&keywords=Karen+J+Mossman

Although the global link is: http://geni.us/b83

Who are your favourite authors?

There are so many, Norah Roberts, Tess Gerritsen, Karin Slaughter, Mark Edwards, Nicholas Evans.

Links

Facebook  –  http://on.fb.me/1NUabAM

Twitter – @KarenJMoss

Google+ http://bit.ly/1PSjWNk

Goodreads.com  – http://bit.ly/1i3QJ7V

http://www.karenmossman.co.uk

http://www.mossmanmusing.blogspot.com

 

                                                 

 

                                                                         

One thought on “Introducing Karen Mossman

Leave a Reply

